Lusciouslacey’s Weblog

An open mind has endless possibilities

Best story ever… not really.

I had a pain in my ass day… well more like a pain in the ass half a day. Here’s how it went.

I go to work in the morning. Not to early not to late… work my ass off at my new job that I totally love. Just really busy right now since I am trying to learn everything and figure out my own system for it all. I leave the great job to head to job number two. Since I drove everyone to lunch I was down to pretty much empty in my jeep. I stop to fill up at my usual gas station… (no where near job #1,  but just a few mins from job #2) I grab the trusty check/debit card and go to pay at the pump. I put it in once… enter my pin and I see INVALID CODE ERROR. So I do it again… INVALID CODE ERROR again… I stop here just about everytime I need gas so I don’t see how this is not working. I have even used this exact pump. I go inside at the gas station and try… still not working. At this point I am just about late for work. I had enough time to drive from job #1 to job #2 and get gas between.  I come back out to my jeep grab my cell to call my bank as I dig thru my wallet to see if I have any cash to get gas to make it to work just a mile away. I turn my debit card over to get the bank 1-800 number and wow…ummm… okay that is not my signature and Im sure as hell not Jessica Bernstein!!!!!

At this point (Im not an idiot) I figure out I don’t have MY debit card and somewhere somehow the switch-a-roo happened. I just didn’t know where or how exactly. We had the same card. Same color, same stripes, same everthing …. yeah I still felt like a big dummy for letting that happen regardless. I dig and dig and find a couple bucks in change to at least make it to work. After calling my boss telling him I will be a few mins late to work… and I AM NEVER LATE TO WORK!!! I work at a bar/pub so I knew if I got there I would have enough cash in my pocket to pay for more gas later. I pump and drive to work the whole time on hold with my bank. After a good 10-15 mins of holding and the worst hold music ever… DISCONNECTED!!! I call again walking into work… put on hold… 20 mins go by and DISCONNECTED!!! WHAT THE HELL IS HAPPENING HERE!!! I go do some work, come back in the kitchen and call again… I can’t get anyone on the phone.  At this point I just want to check my balance to see if my new card holder had spent any of my money. I spent $22 of hers before finding out and I felt horrible. I get into a non-complete version of online banking. Basically PC/blackberry banking, you can get your balance and that is about it. HOLY CRAP ARE YOU KIDDING ME…. $3000 short!!! She spent $3000 in two and half days. IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE WITH A DEBIT CARD… what ever happened to needing a pin, or a matching billing address, what about anything???

I fnally get someone at my 1-800 bank line to pick up after my shift at 11:30pm… asking me if I could please call back in an hour because the bank systems are down!!! YEA NO PROBLEM… SOME CHICKS JUST SPENDING ALL MY MONEY… BUT YOU GO AHEAD AND FIX THE SYSTEM!!! AGHHHH

I get home and try to login to Online Banking. NO, ACCESS DENIED!!! Please call your 1-800 bank number.

I called again and finally cancelled my card/accont and asked to be able to use my online banking again. I told them that I had another girls card thinking if they freeze her account or put a note on her online banking she then might know what happened. WHO AM I KIDDING??? She knew exactly what she was doing… I ask again WHO SPENDS $3000 in two days.

Here I am in the middle of getting up to speed a new job and I have to budget time to go into my bank and sit down with someone to dispute the charges on my card (all charges from NY by the way… ummm Im in Georgia and you have to investigate) They check it all out and then if it checks out I get my money back.

Try not being able to spend your money when you know you have it and work for a living to keep it. Not so much fun!!

A day after I figured this all out, I am still dealing with the mess, having to call all my bills to pay online or to just tell them my card number is now changing… FUN!!

Could be worse right>???  I know I know I am just over dealing with it at this point.

July 17, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. This happpend to me one time. I got my card in 48 hours but my bank sent me someone elses card. It was not even my name on it or anything.

    Banks suck. We have to use them though. They know they have us and we are not going anywhere so they seriously lack in the customer service dept.

    Comment by Sara | July 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. wow girlie – that’s a lot of shit! i’m glad you got it taken care of!

    Comment by christian | July 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

